A little thought :)

So I had some alone time today and my mind was ticking over, as usual.

It made me think about my mental illness.
I get tired really easily these days. Whether I’ve been out or not. I tend to need to sleep for 2 and a half hours in the afternoon.
I know I’m not alone in this, but I was thinking about how people will react. I get called lazy a lot . Told I need to get out more and exercise . But neither is the case . Honestly, I just need 2.5 hours worth of sleep.
Unlike those without mental illness, I need extra sleep. I need 8 hours a night to function properly and I need the extra 2.5 later on to keep going. 

I don’t know why people find that hard to understand though ??
They accept that I’m ill. They constantly say I keep bringing it up, like it’s a chore for them to hear it. But they can’t accept that being ill means I need extra bits along with it. A nap isn’t anything to anyone else. Eating less isn’t etc etc . But they always make it sound like it is.

What people really need to do is sit back , accept it , and let me do what I have to do . My body knows what it needs and recently, I have started listening . It is helping . Yes, I am getting bad days, but the good days are actually good !!

I think people really need to learn how to handle mental illness better.
More need to be open about it but for that to happen, we need people to be more accepting and understanding of it too 🙂

We just need simple little things like:

– Someone willing to listen from time to time / For someone to do their best to understand
– A hug
– To know we aren’t alone in all of this
– Someone to show that we matter

– To know that we aren’t going crazy at times , to know depression is real and it’s not all “in our heads”
– To know there is hope
– For someone to let us know we CAN survive this
– To know that we won’t drive people away. That they aren’t going to abandon us
– ‘I love you’ goes a long way, but only if you mean it
– A nice little saying that can go a long way, 
“I’m sorry that you’re in so much pain. I am not going to leave you. I am going to take care of myself, so you don’t need to worry that your pain might hurt me.”

It’s little steps like this that will help us make mental illness a thing of the past 🙂 
More caring and understanding people 🙂 

No one wants to be ill . We don’t wake up and say “Oh I know, I want to be really depression and feel crappy and bring others down with us”. It isn’t a choice . We wish it was !! That way we could feel “normal” and get a job , clean our houses , look after ourselves . Doll up . etc etc . But sadly , mental illness is a war . Forever being fought and rarely won . It creeps back slowly over time and sometimes it can be worse than ever . We can feel like we are dying . We do “over-react” . But all we need is for someone to care. And we can conquer anything . 

So please , if you know someone suffering . Be there for them 🙂 
Curl up under a blanket watch tv / movies . Fall asleep for a few hours with them . Make them food . Talk . Hug . Love . 
It can go a LONG way . And it’s very minimal effort to just ask how they are and to listen . You honestly DON’T have to say anything to them . Just knowing someone is here for you, works.

One thought on “A little thought :)

Leave a Reply

